Albert R. (Scottie) Scott started his rink business in Carthage, IL in 1936 in an upstairs hall. He ran the rink there for two years. In the spring of 1939, Scottie built a semi-portable rink, 50’ x 100’ with wood rafters, metal roof and canvas sidewalls. He ran the rink in Hamilton during the spring and summer.
In the fall of 1939, Scottie moved the rink to Quincy and opened in October. The rink was open thru the winter. The summer of 1940 he moved the rink to Pittsfield, IL and was there until January 1941.
January 1941 moved back to Quincy to the North 12th St. location. At this time he added 10 ft. of floor space.
– Put plastic on floor, Scotties rink was 3rd rink in Illinois to have curb crest floor
- Scottie put an additional 50’ x 60’ to the back end. In 1952 a snack bar was built separate from the rink. Scottie ran the rink at this location until 1979. He then built a new rink on East Broadway, which is still in operation today. The rink is run by his son, Robert K. Scott.
- Scotties wins Best Family Entertainment Facility in the country with Roller skating as the major anchor.
- Scotties expands to bring Fun Spot Speedway into the mix. A fleet of 20 electric powered go-karts and the area,s biggest track. Scotties now boasts over 2 acres of Fun.